mehr info über

Those Usual Suspects

Those Usual Suspects
There is no denying, Wei-Shen is one of Australia’s most exciting and respected house DJs, and among a new breed of prolific producers carving an enviable reputation internationally.  

Likened to the irrepressible Bob Sinclar during his infancy, Wei-Shen is renowned for his interactive and infectious style, never failing to deliver raw yet refined music that will move – music that knows no cultural or geographic boundaries.  Armed with a natural flair for reading a dance floor and a versatility to match, Wei-Shen thrills crowds with his distinctive brand of hedonistic and sexy house music – as his sets typically infuse rolling basslines, afrocentric percussion, balearic Latin rhythms, uplifting vocals, broken-beats, French-inspired disco, gritty funk hooks and the occasional surprise thrown in for good measure.

Proving that the tyranny of distance is no barrier, Wei-Shen is a tireless ambassador for house music – jet-setting and captivating delirious clubbers at several of the world’s most renowned discotheques and special events, while sharing the bill with industry heavyweights, including the likes of Frankie Knuckles, Roger Sanchez, Bob Sinclar, David Guetta, Joachim Garraud, Kenny Dope, Junior Jack & Kid Creme, Dimitri From Paris, Laidback Luke, Dirty South, Mark Knight and DJ Spen.  As well as being part of the esteemed Defected family, and an international resident for European clubbing brand Kinki Malinki, he is regularly in-demand to play at ultra-sexy private parties for the likes of Paris Hilton, Jackie Chan, FTV and Elite Model Management and fashion houses such as Karl Langerfeld, Gucci, Christian Dior and Hugo Boss.

Back home Wei-Shen is a welcome mainstay at some of Australia’s finest clubbing establishments while regularly commanding the dance floors of our most notorious events and festivals such as Summadayze, Pacha, Defected In The House, Betterdays, Good Vibrations, We Love and Future Music Festival.  In late 2007, Wei-Shen mixed Ministry of Sound’s Housexy Spring 2007 compilation alongside Alan Thompson and toured throughout Australia extensively to promote the compilation.  Then in late 2008, Wei-Shen further solidified his relationship with London-based House imprint Defected by mixing its coveted “Alumbra presents Defected In The House” compilation with Simon Dunmore and Simon Digby.  Now in 2009, his production group Those Usual Suspects and Mobin Master were commissioned to mix Ministry of Sound’s Housexy Autumn 2009 compilation.  

Production-wise, it’s no surprise that Wei-Shen and his fellow “Those Usual Suspects” cohorts (Maarcos and Atridge) have earned international acclaim.  Boasting a respectable list of production credits, their collaborative tracks have toppled music charts worldwide and continue to be championed by the global house music fraternity, including the likes of  the Swedish House Mafia, Erick Morillo, Bob Sinclar, Martin Solveig, Roger Sanchez, David Guetta, Osunlade and DJ Gregory to name a few.  Their remix works also reads likes a who’s who of the house music industry, with remixes of Bob Sinclar "Together", Kings of Tomorrow (featuring Julie McKnight) “Finally”, Axwell & Bob Sinclar (feat Ron Carroll) “What A Wonderful World”, Back To Fundamentals by Dimitri From Paris (presents Electra 80) “Rock This” and Empire Of The Sun “Without You” already to their name.

Their maiden single “Dakka” which was released on Bob Sinclar’s Africanism/Yellow Productions imprint and remixed by Louie Vega was featured in July 2007 on Pete Tong’s BBC Radio 1.  Their follow up "Greece 2000" which was released on Ministry of Sound had pundits billing it as one of the biggest club anthems of 2008.  Then in late 2008, Those Usual Suspects took the wraps of their new single “Shadows”, a breathtakingly epic house anthem featuring the renowned Abigail Bailey on vocals which was also released on Ministry Of Sound.  This track has received rapturous support worldwide, including from the Swedish House Mafia, Bob Sinclar, Kaskade and even Armin Van Buuren amongst others, and catapulted Those Usual Suspects into the American music scene after recently debuting at 22 on the US Billboard Dance Charts.  Their next release “Coma Yese (Rain Dance)” featuring Shovell (Defected resident percussionist and of M-People fame) on vocals has been signed to Mousse T’s Peppermint Jam label, while “Palazzo” and “Animalia” are forthcoming on Ministry Of Sound Australia’s Hussle sub-label, with an arsenal of other tunes in the pipeline.

If reputations are forged on achievements, Wei-Shen (and his Those Usual Suspects) are set to fulfil their promise of being one of the finest house acts to ever come out of Australia ...

Selected Discography

Inaya Day – Nasty Girl (Wei-Shen and Maarcos Remix) – Vinyl Pusher
The Similou – All This Love (Those Usual Suspects Mix) – Ministry of Sound

Those Usual Suspects – Dakka (Original Mix and Louie Vega Mix) – Africanism/Yellow Productions
Mark James (feat Hamish) – Come With Me (Those Usual Suspects Mix) – Hussle Records
Sgt Slick – Sax Addict (Those Usual Suspects Mix) – Vicious Grooves

Those Usual Suspects – Greece 2000 (Original Mix, DONS & DBN Mix and Maarcos Mix) – Ministry of Sound
Bob Sinclar (feat Steve Edwards) – Together (Those Usual Suspects Mix) – Defected
Kings of Tomorrow (feat Julie McKnight) – Finally (Those Usual Suspects Mix) – Defected
Back To Fundamentals by Torre – Higher (Those Usual Suspects Mix) – SSOH
Everything But The Girl – Missing (Those Usual Suspects Cheeky Bootleg Mix) – XXX
KA – Footsteps (Those Usual Suspects Mix) – Liberation
Greg Stainer – Long Verb (Those Usual Suspects Mix) – Kinki Malinki
Bob Sinclar & Axwell (feat Ron Carroll) – WWW (Those Usual Suspects Mix) – Ministry Of Sound
Those Usual Suspects – Shadows (Original Mix, Inpetto Mix, Norman Doray Mix and Maarcos Mix) – Ministry Of Sound/Nervous

Back To Fundamentals by Dimitri From Paris presents Electra 80 – Rock This (Those Usual Suspects Mix) – SSOH
Those Usual Suspects – Voyager – Hussle (forthcoming)
Those Usual Suspects (feat Shovell) – Coma Yese (Rain Dance) – Peppermint Jam (forthcoming)
Those Usual Suspects – Palazzo (Original Mix and Deep Mix) – Hussle
Those Usual Suspects – Animalia – Hussle (forthcoming)
Those Usual Suspects – Feel The Need (Original Mix and Big Room Mix) (forthcoming)
Empire Of The Sun – Without You (Those Usual Suspects Mix) – EMI (forthcoming)

20:00 - 22:00 CET
06:00 - 08:00 CET